Mohammad Rizwan’s Bizarre Hit-Wicket Escape: What Happened?
During the 2nd T20I between Pakistan and New Zealand, Mohammad Rizwan sparked confusion when he knocked the bails off while sweeping Ish Sodhi—yet was declared not out. Fans and players debated fiercely, but the decision was rooted in cricket’s rulebook. Here’s the breakdown.
The Key Rule: Why Rizwan Survived the Appeal
The umpires’ verdict relied on Law 29.1.1 of the MCC Laws of Cricket:
“The wicket is put down if a bail is removed… provided the ball is in play.”
Critical detail: Rizwan dislodged the stumps after his shot crossed the boundary. Since the ball was already “dead” (per Law 20.1.1.3), the hit-wicket dismissal couldn’t apply.
When Is the Ball “Dead”?
The ball becomes dead when:
1. It settles with the wicketkeeper/bowler.
2. A boundary is scored (even before physically crossing the rope if unstoppable).
In this case, the umpires deemed the ball dead the moment Rizwan’s sweep was clearly heading for four.
Precedent: Stoinis’ 2019 BBL Reprieve
Similar incidents exist, like Marcus Stoinis’ 2019 not-out call in the BBL after his bat hit the stumps post-boundary. Consistency in rulings supports the Rizwan decision.
Controversy: Why Fans and NZ Were Confused
Critics argued the bails were disturbed before the ball reached the rope, but umpires emphasized intent: if the boundary was inevitable, the ball’s status overrides timing.
Verdict: Correct Call, But Should Laws Be Clearer?
While the decision was technically correct, the incident highlights ambiguity in defining the exact moment the ball becomes dead. The ICC may need to clarify wording to avoid future debates.
Final Takeaway
Cricket’s laws are complex, and Rizwan’s case underscores how nuances impact outcomes. For now, the ruling stands—but should it be revised? Share your thoughts!
(For more cricket insights, follow [Your Publication].)
